Blaine House (Governor's Mansion)
The Blaine House, located on the corner of State and Capitol Streets, was built in the Federalist style in 1833. In 1872, the motif was changed to Victorian & Italian style, and in 1919, noted Maine architect, John Calvin Stevens, remodeled the mansion to a semi-Colonial structure. A gift to the state from Mrs. Harriet Blaine Beal, the house has been the official residence of Maine governors since 1919.
The Blaine House is open to the public for tours weekly on Tuesday, Wednesday and Thursday from 2 p.m. to 4 p.m.
Phone: (207) 624-7500
Maine State Museum
Experience Maine's past by visiting the Maine State Museum, one of the finest state museums in the USA. The Museum presents exhibits of Maine's natural environment, social history and manufacturing heritage.
Located in the State Capitol Complex, the museum is open Tuesday through Friday from 9am to 5pm, Saturday 10am to 4pm, and is closed Sundays, Mondays and all state holidays.
Phone: (207) 287-2301
Old Fort Western - 1754 - 261 year old treasure!
A 261-year-old treasure! Old Fort Western was built in 1754 by the Proprietors of the Kennebec Purchase and is now designated as a National Historic Landmark. It is the nation’s oldest surviving wooden fort. Located on Cony Street on the banks of the Kennebec River, the Fort complex includes the original main house (barrack and store) and reproduction blockhouses, watchboxes and palisade. The Fort portrays military, settlement, family, work and community themes. Guided tours offer visitors an opportunity to step back into the past.
For information on admission and group discounts call (207) 626-2385.
A 6,000 square foot education and resouce center has been built at the University of Maine at Augusta, The Michael Klahr Holocaust Education Resource Center, built with the help of Holocaust Human Rights Center of Maine – and a generious donation by Michael Klahr, who survived the holocaust as a child – will house artifacts and informatinon from Maine poeople who survived or helped to liberate the concentration camps of World War II. In the center, attached to the University’s Katz library, researchers will find a rich archive of reference material. Klahr Center seminars and symposiums will focus on the topics of diversity, medical ethics and the Holocaust.
Kennebec County Court House
The Kennebec County Court House, located at the intersection of State and Winthrop Streets, was built in 1830. This granite building is a clear example of the Greek Revival style of construction. From 1830 to 1969, the Maine Supreme Judicial Court held sessions in the Court House, and the room where they met still contains the original chairs and desks they used. The Kennebec County Court House is listed in the National Registry of historic buildings.
Children's Discovery Museum
This exciting children's museum offers a "hands-on" opportunity for youngsters through grade five to have fun while learning in an interactive environment. A host of exciting exhibits include a restaurant, grocery store, and bank, along with a reading loft, theater and a rainforest/toddler play area. The renewed facility also includes the Kennebec River room, a multi-cultural music center and a tree house/nature center. Kids can also learn about engineering, construction and transportation and can enjoy the Birthday Party room. The museum overlooks the mighty Kennebec River and provides wonderful opportunities for creative family fun.
The museum is located at 171 Capital Street, Augusta.
Phone: (207) 622-2209 Website: www.childrensdiscoverymuseum.org
Maine Vietnam Veterans Memorial
The Maine Vietnam Veterans Memorial, located in Capitol Park, honors those who served in Vietnam and those whose lives were touched by the war. The Memorial is represented by three triangular structures. One can walk through this “statue in reverse” memorial, incorporating the viewer as an integral part of the design.
This cemetery is one of the oldest burial grounds in Augusta. Located on the old "Vassalboro Coach Road" (now Hospital Street), the cemetery contains several interesting slate headstones of the late 18th century and early 19th century. Many are carved in traditional manner, incorporating the willow, angel and death signs as well as several interesting epitaphs.
Maine Veterans Memorial Cemeteries
This sprawling hillside cemetery and nearby expanded pastoral cemetery are the final resting places for thousands of Maine citizens who served their country in time of war. On the outskirts of Augusta, the Maine Veterans Memorial Cemeteries are designed with walls of names and offer a somber reminder of those who have served our country.
Law Enforcement, EMT & Fire Fighter Memorials
These special memorials, erected near the State House in the last decade, give constant statewide tribute to law enforcement officials and fire fighters who have given their lives in the line of duty.
Prior to 1879, this park was known as the Augusta Mall and was the mustering point for the Kennebec Valley Civil War troops. Following that war, the Westside rotary site was conveyed to the city of Augusta in trust for a Civil War monument. Since that time, war memorials have been added for World War I and II, the Korean War, and the Vietnam War.
Kennebec River Rail Trail Tops Many Bike & Hike Trails
The Kennebec River Rail Trail offers miles of scenic river views for walkers and bikers and stretches more than six miles between Augusta, Hallowell, Farmingdale and Gardiner. The University of Maine at Augusta maintains hiking and running trails for all levels and the Greenway in Augusta is a shorter pleasant river walk. Viles Arboretum also offers beautiful wooded trails for nature lovers.
St. Paul Center
The St. Paul Center was originally designed by John Calvin Stevens for Governor John Fremont Hill. This building incorporates the use of Maine granite and St. Louis brick in its construction. It is the last remaining of the imposing estates of Augusta built during the late 1890's and early 1900's.
Visit nature's gift to everyone! The Arboretum is a 200-acre tract of land where trees, shrubs, and plants are cultivated for educational, recreational and scientific purposes. White pine trees have been planted in honor of all 71 Maine governors. Recreational opportunities include bird-watching, picnicking, hiking, biking and cross-country skiing
The Arboretum, located at Hospital Street and Piggery Road, offers a fine view of the Kennebec Valley and a visitors center open to the public.
Phone: (207) 621-0031
Samantha Smith Memorial
Samantha Smith was the 10-year-old child from Manchester, Maine, who in December of 1982, wrote a letter to Yuri Andropov to congratulate him on his appointment as Soviet Premier. In her letter, Samantha confided her fears of nuclear war and the tense relations between the United States and the Soviet Union. In the spring of 1983, Mr. Andropov responded with an invitation to Samantha and her family to visit the Soviet Union, experience its culture and meet Soviet children. Tragically, Samantha's voice was silenced in a 1985 plane crash, but her legacy remains a major step in the successful peace efforts between the two super powers.
Maine State House
Noted Boston architect Charles Bulfinch designed the original Capitol. It was built in 1829 using granite quarried from nearby Hallowell. In 1910, another Boston architect, C. Henri Desmond, enlarged the edifice to double its original size. It is truly one of Maine's architectural treasures. The dome rises 185 feet. Minerva, the Roman goddess of wisdom, stands atop the dome. The Capitol Building houses both the Executive and Legislative branches. Tours are available weekdays only, year-round.
Phone: (207) 287-2301
Maine Shakespearean Theater At Monmouth
The Shakespearean Theater of Maine is a regional treasure that attracts Mainers and summer visitors from around the world to high quality performances of Shakespeare and others. Since 1970, The Theater at Monmouth has presented professional productions of the world's greatest plays in rotating repertory in the beautifully restored 100-year-old Cumston Hall.